The Screenwriter's Challenge is an international screenplay competition, now in it's 5th year, that challenges participants to create original short screenplays (15 pages max.) in as little as 24 hours.  The event is organized by NYC Midnight Movie Making Madness, an organization dedicated to discovering and promoting a new wave of talented storytellers.  NYC Midnight aims to provide the prizes and exposure necessary for writers to take their next big step towards writing professionally.


Past winners are pictured below:




Aaron Pease (Arlington, VA, USA)


Winning Scripts - "SNAFU" (Drama) and "We'll Meet Again Some Day" (Sci-Fi)


Click here to read the Interview with Aaron



Elizabeth Chase (Pasadena, CA, USA)


Winning Scripts - "Maddy's Quick Trip" (Thriller) and "Disgorgement" (Horror)


Click here to read the Interview with Elizabeth



Amy Neswald (New York, NY, USA)


Winning Scripts - "Wednesday Night at Spanky's" (Comedy) and "Wilderness" (Fantasy)


Click here to read the Interview with Amy



James Felder (New York, NY, USA)


Winning Scripts - "The August Sun" (Horror) and "Marking Time" (Comedy)




Information for winning scripts from past Screenwriter's Challenges can be easily found in our scripts section on  Each winning script's logline, genre, page count and contact information for the writer are listed.  Click here to visit NYC Midnight Scripts.




Special thanks to our judges who spent many hours reading and re-reading the stories in the 1st Round:  Jeff Collins, Trevor Davis, Patrick Elkins-Zeglarski, David K. Fried, Michalle Gould, Kathleen Hannon, Matthew Heiti, Daniel Johnson, Eric Lefenfeld, Elizabeth Flora Moore, Dustin Luke Nelson, Robert Plotner, Suzanne Proulx, Sarah Saltwick, Ashley Serrao, Michael Ugulini, Emmet Vincent, and John Wenz


Final Round:  Patrick Elkins-Zeglarski, Michalle Gould, Matthew Heiti, Dustin Luke Nelson, and Michael Ugulini


 | screenwriter's challenge 2008 | about | register | prizes | sponsors | faq | forum

2007 NYC Midnight Movie Making Madness, LLC.  All Rights Reserved.